Riddling Along

Riddles are an entertaining way of getting students thinking and learning. Here are ten riddles for teachers teaching English, Literature, Visual Literacy or Media to try. Even if you aren’t a teacher and studied many years ago, test your lateral thinking skills and see if you can get the answers to these riddles. They are supplied at the end.

 Literature

  1. 1. My journey began in Japan. My neat rhythm of 5 then 7 and then 5 again gives shape to me and help carry my message. Who am I?
  2. Some people might think my name means new or unique but I have been around far too long to be considered that. I am a literary form known as the ?
  3. I am a form of poetry that often deals with events on a grand scale. With me you are on an odyssey. I am an                     .

 Visual Literacy

  1.  The first part of me might sound as if I am some type of vehicle. I help people    laugh, but no one travels in me though I help carry ideas. Who am I?
  2.  I move and take you on a journey. You do not sit in or on me when you on your   journey. I am known as a                    .
  3. I am an eye you use to help capture but I am not one of your own eyes. I am    the   eye of a                  .

      Language

  1.  Who, what, when and why are my companions though we may be separated by words in between. I am included to show that something has been asked. I am a                              .
  2. The word ‘root’ is often used when talking about us but we are not found in soil under plants. We actually come before or after a different sort of root. We are                      and                        .
  3. We may be spelled and pronounced the same way but we are not the same as each other. We are                        .
  4. We have nothing to do with telephones or cell phones though we are also to do with sound. We are pronounced the same way but have different spellings and meanings. We are                       .

Here are the answers:

  1. A haiku
  2. novel
  3. epic poem
  4. A cartoon
  5. movie
  6. camera
  7. prefixes and suffixes
  8. homonyms
  9. homophones

COLOUR ME MORE: Teaching English and Literature’ and ‘COLOUR ME MORE: Teaching Dramatic Arts’ by Andrew Pender-Smith* offer more riddles and some discussion on how they can be effective learning tools.  If you are a teacher, you might like creating some of your own for your class. You could get your students to create riddles dealing with their work and then encouraging them to answer each others’ riddles.

*Both books are about to be published.

Scroll down to look at the tongue twisters and children’s poems, which are yours to use with acknowledgement.

Andrew Pender-Smith

Leave a Reply

