De Green Monkee Speaks

Funny Vervet Monkeys_5

De Green Monkee Speaks

Pssssst! So babee,

you wanna know about

de green monkee?

You see me here.

You see me dere

when I swing frum

tree to tree

wid great agility.

When I’m eating de fruits,

or swimming in de jungle pools,

I’m tinking, tinking, tinking

because I got de hobbies

like dancing, writing, singing.

One big day I might be

de world’s most famous

dancing, writing, singing monkee,

but for now I chill, my brudder,

an enjoy de monkee beer

an eat de forest fruits, mon,

because life is cool, mon,

an slowly, slowly

I’m swinging, lazy, lazy

in dis forest tree.

© Andrew Pender-Smith and Sebastian de Vervet

Teachers and students are free to use this poem on the condition that the author is acknowledged.

De Green Monkee Speaks Again

I been tinking, tinking about

dis career business.

I don won anyone tinking I’m

just no swing-about.

Even when I’m drinking de best in

monkee beer,

my mind, my bro, is agile.

It’s workin’ absolutely clear.

If dis dancing, writing, singing business

is not de ting for me,

I’ll study a course in

monkee philosophy,

because my mind can jump from here

an’ my mind can jump from dere.

I dink I’ll run for president

or maybe monkee king.

Now it’s time for more beer, mon,

while I do my clever, clever tinking.

© Andrew Pender-Smith and Sebastian de Vervet

Teachers and students are free to use this poem on the condition that the author is acknowledged.

The Green Monkey is the brains, when he’s not drinking too much monkey beer and swinging from fruit tree to fruit tree, behind ‘Green Monkey Publications’. He’s the one who keeps a sharp lookout on its two authors, Andrew Pender-Smith and Craig Carden, to make sure they aren’t in the least bit slack and keep on writing.  His full name is Sebastian de Vervet but he is simply called ‘Sabs’ by friends and family. The top shows Sebastian as a baby with his parents.

81_Hundreds_Of_Awesome_Animal_Pictures-s1600x1200-121102

This photo is of Sebastian’s uncle, Uncle Herbert de Vervet.

2 thoughts on “De Green Monkee Speaks

Leave a Reply

